Sunday Hike and Run with my Son

Unbelievably, my 13-year-old son, who tends to like to escape both physically and emotionally from everyone these days, agreed to do a hike with me this past Sunday.  Like so many kids his age, he seems to only want to talk when he’s in the car, and we’re not in the car much anymore. So we hiked together, way up the bluff, and the vista high we gained made me thankful again for what two strong legs can do for a person.  It was truly the highlight of my day, and a great way to cross-train/do my easy Sunday “run.”

Image

At the top of the bluff, we sat on a rock for awhile and talked about how he wishes he could play like a little kid, even though he isn’t one, a conversation which made me let out a long sigh for all fleeting childhoods, especially this one, of my youngest sweetie.

Image

Image

But I was grateful he’d shared, and near the end of the trail, back down to earth so to speak, I gave him some space to climb up and down a ravine on his own, while I trotted off down this lovely path that runs along the bottom of the bluff, slow running, then walking, savoring having combined two things that make me happy in one Sunday, my son and my exercise out in nature.  I knew I’d remember this as the new week made its demands.hixon forest big trail sept 13

About Jodi Vandenberg-Daves

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves writes about learning to live by loving to run.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Hike and Run with my Son

  1. Andrea Hansen says:

    It is a sweet time – this inbetween – the self-awareness of these b’tweens tugs at my own longing/forcasting many years ago. I know that my youngest is expressing the same when she orders a scoop of cotton candy and a scoop of cappacino for her double ice-cream cone (with sprinkles!).

  2. Yes, it’s true. The intensity of this time in my kids’ lives makes me remember what I was like at that age, too. It is sweet, yes, but a weird and sometimes lonely life transition for them. I’m glad he lets me in sometimes!

Leave a Reply

