Early September

I hear my blog needs some photos, and yesterday was such a photo op kind of running day! I played hooky for a couple of hours and drove out to my friend’s farm to take a 4.5 mile run, feed her dog while my friend is away, and, as a reward for it all, pick veggies, grapes and raspberries from her garden.

Here’s the beginning of my running route on this country road up on a ridge in beautiful Wisconsin bluff country.

20130905_133950

And here’s some goldenrod, some of it already dying, that fleeting, late August flower that signals the end of the summer.

20130905_134131

Running outdoors throughout the year really keeps me in touch with the seasons. Especially when I lived in the country, I came to notice all these gradations in the foliage and the slant of the sun. I love the awareness that there’s a kernel of fall even in the warm summer weather. Running on my trail near town, I see those first red leaves on trees, or dropped onto the path, sometime in August, and it always makes me smile. I love to welcome fall, even though it’s a crazy busy season. It’s a runner’s dream season, weather that’s cool, but not cold, glorious colors, and something changing in nature every week, probably more often than that if you’re really looking.
Fall also has a lot to recommend it for a half-marathon trainee who’s also a professor. Yes, I’m busier than ever with work, but last time I did a fall training like this, I found that there was some kind of homeopathic principle at work: like meets like; the incredible intensity of the week’s workload was somehow complimented by a long, intense, anxiety-draining, happily exhausting weekend run. Four and a half mile mid-week runs serve a similar purpose. And since yesterday was meeting-free, I flexed my work hours to achieve some of that intensity in a place far from my workaday responsibilities, taking an extra long “lunch hour.”

And when I got back, this was my reward:

 

20130905_133456

 

20130905_133620

After that, I felt really good the rest of the day.
Happy early September!

About Jodi Vandenberg-Daves

Jodi Vandenberg-Daves writes about learning to live by loving to run.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Early September

  1. susielindau says:

    Where are you in Wisconsin? I’m from Madison originally.
    –friend of Jess Witkins!

  2. Andrea Hansen says:

    Beautiful, Jodi! A real celebration of WI fall.

  3. Thanks, Andrea! And I’ll bet you know this farm…

Leave a Reply

